## **CHESHIRE EAST COUNCIL**

Minutes of a meeting of the Local Authority School Governor Nomination Panel held on Thursday, 6th February, 2020 at R1 & R2 - Westfields, Middlewich Road, Sandbach, CW11 1HZ

#### **PRESENT**

Councillor S Carter (Chairman)

Councillors A Moran (for Cllr Stott) and J Wray (for Cllr Hayes)

#### Officers in attendance

Mike Harris, Service Manager School Liaison and Governance Lynn Taylor, Senior Governance Officer Julie Zientek, Democratic Services Officer

Note: The meeting was opened and adjourned for 40 minutes, as it was inquorate at the start time, to allow for a substitute Panel member to attend.

#### 16 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies were received from Councillors M Beanland, A Harewood, G Hayes and A Stott.

## 17 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

In the interests of openness, Councillor A Moran declared that he had known the applicant for Weaver Primary School when he was a governor at Brine Leas School.

## 18 PUBLIC SPEAKING TIME/OPEN SESSION

No members of the public were present.

## 19 MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

#### **RESOLVED:**

That the minutes of the meeting held on 14 October 2019 be confirmed as a correct record.

#### 20 EXCLUSION OF PRESS AND PUBLIC

#### **RESOLVED:**

That the press and public be excluded from the meeting during consideration of the following item in pursuant to Section 100(A)(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 as amended on the grounds that it involved the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Paragraph 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972 and the public interest would not be served in publishing this information.

# 21 LOCAL AUTHORITY NOMINATIONS TO SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES

The Panel considered the report on the current Local Authority Governor vacancies within Cheshire East maintained schools and academies and the applications received for nomination.

The Panel noted that one of the applications for the Westminster Nursery School vacancy had been withdrawn.

#### **RESOLVED:**

That, having regard to the statutory guidance in making nominations, the following be approved:

## **Nominations for Appointment**

HASLINGTON PRIMARY SCHOOL Mrs Karen Jones

PEBBLE BROOK PRIMARY SCHOOL Miss Laura Smith

THE MACCLESFIELD ACADEMY Mr James Scorer

WEAVER PRIMARY SCHOOL Mrs Emma Latham

WESTMINSTER NURSERY SCHOOL Mrs Pat Smith

The meeting commenced at 2.00 pm and concluded at 2.55 pm

Councillor S Carter (Chairman)